Price’s Island Site 9LC1

The latest archaeology report in the LAMAR Institute’s inventory is Number 237, entitled,

Murky Glimpses of Price’s Island, Lincoln County, Georgia.

I am the author and this report is available for free public download at the LAMAR Institute’s website– https://thelamarinstitute.org/images/PDFs/publication_237.pdf

This report discusses the archaeological legacy of now-submerged large island located in the Savannah River in Lincoln County, Georgia. This island was inundated by the creation of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers’ Clark Hill hydroelectric dam in the early 1950s. The dam was completed in 1954, the year I was born, and it has since been renamed in honor of Strom Thurmond. In my report I piece together the story of the archaeological site, the relic collectors, archaeologists and proto-archaeologists who visited the site. I hope that you enjoy what I wrote.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.